Goodbye Dumb, Uh I Mean Dome!

Beginning to feel more like my normal self, however I do not feel like I am back at full capacity yet. My cough was practically gone this past week, but would crop up from time to time. My energy is coming back also and I am not bonking workouts like I have been, but my heart rate is still higher than normal and I am far off holding my hard Thursday run pace for as long as I used to be able too. I may have lost some fitness over this past month, but if that is the case, I’ll regain it relatively quickly over the coming weeks.

April 27 to May 3

Monday: Treadmill, 40mins easy.

Tuesday: 1 mile warm up, 7:30, drills and strides.
Spikes:
3×300, 5mins rec: 46, 46, 45. This is a similar workout I ran right before getting sick and I am actually a bit nervous of it. I slowed the pace down, and brought the recovery down as well, to make sure I could complete it without ending up in another world of hurt. Last time we did this, we did the reps much faster, with much more recovery. Slowing these reps down a fair bit was I think, a really good idea as I am still coming back and would rather play it safe right now.

Wednesday: Treadmill, 40mins easy.

Thursday: Treadmill, 6mins warm up, 20mins on 9, 5xhills on incline 6, speed 11.5.
Better 20min segment this week, no coughing but still very difficult over last 5mins. I held 30 mins of this a monthago so am still a fair bit off on this.
PM, easy 40mins with work group.
PM 8K with Achilles Group, 4:45 per K. Cramped up on this run and had to stop twice to stretch quad. Probably a bad idea to run 3 times lol, but just so nice outside!

Saturday: 7mins warm up on grass, drills and hard strides.
Spikes:
4x200m, 90secs rec. Workout called for these to be in 28:
28, 29, 29, 32. Pretty good workout for me. I did not think I’d hold pace for as long as I did.
800m, slow jog warm down.

Sunday: 40mins easy moderate on Treadmill.

About BigBlindRunner

I am a blind runner competing at the Paralympic level in a site classification reserved for those athletes with no, or very little site, thus I require a guide runner to help me navigate the track. This can pose some very unique challenges for sure, but when mastered, I've been told there is nothing sweeter to watch. stats: 6' 180 to 185lbs, depending on time of day. Body fat: Tested last in March at 5.4% PBs: 100m = 12.03, wind: -0.04 200m = 24.68, wind, 0.6 400m = 53.97 800m = 2:05.47
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment